Avoid this common mistake in email marketing

Don't forget your social media share buttons in your email marketing

Don't forget your social media share buttons in your email marketing

I see businesses making this email marketing mistake again and again. Sending out emails and e-newsletters without any social media buttons.

So why should you care? Emails with share options get 30% higher click through rates (see the full overview of the study done at Mashable). Do I have your attention now?

Use full advantage of retweet and facebook “like” buttons. I often find that I want to share information that I’ve received in an email newsletter and been scrambling to find the links.  Now I will admit that if the content is really good, I will make the effort to go to the website and find the link to the info (but if the info isn’t even on your website, I really don’t know what to say). But that’s just me. I guarantee that most people will not bother to make the extra effort.

Don’t make it hard for people to share your content. Make it ridiculously easy, with one click social media share buttons and wicked content that will make your information sharable. It’s a win-win situation.

Remember, your emails and newsletters aren’t stand alone entities. They must be in sync  your whole online marketing strategy. If they’re not, you’re just asking for a whole bunch of frustrated recipients, and denying your content its opportunity to go viral. And you don’t want that, now do you?

If you’re not yet using social media or blogging for your small business, contact me today to find out what you’re missing.

If you blog on WordPress, try this retweet plugin

Share

About Martina

I am a Vancouver based marketing consultant specializing in online communications. I also offer copy writing, public relations and other marketing services. My passion is helping small businesses improve and grow!
This entry was posted in Free marketing tools, Marketing best practices, Online communications, Small business marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

